The Time I Went to Jakarta Book Fair 2014!!

10247307_505948779527596_7785773196644002493_n

It was the time again! (I know it must’ve been pretty late) It’s the 24th annual Jakarta Book Fair – my 3rd time visiting the book fair – and as per usual it was held in Istora Senayan Jakarta. My favorite place is on the right corner after the main entrance, Periplus’ stand! The books were such a rip-off, plus they were on a great condition. No wander every time I get there, the   place was always crowded, especially on weekends.

I instantly gone crazy, and snatched every interesting books that I encountered (which were a lot) – although later I sort them out. The funny thing  was, even though it’s been like 3rd time I visited the fair, I was always surprised by the huge amount of discount that they gave. One book, Blood Red Road by Moira Young, was discounted to Rp 15.000,00 BEFORE the real discount of 50%, which means that the actual book was priced by Rp 7.500,00!! (I still couldn’t get myself over this part). Not that the book was in perfect condition, whatsoever. But given such a shocking price for a great read was seriously insane! (Which means I’m perfectly happy and totally agree that this is what sale should be).

After hours of digging every pile of books and deliberating on what books I should pick, due to the increasing amount of TBR pile, I came out with 6 books and 3 magazines (those three was priced Rp 5.000,00 each). I was literally surprised to see the total price of all books and kept asking the cashier if the price was for real; Rp 160.000,00. That actually means, I barely spent Rp 25.000,00 for each book! (sorry for the calculation, I still couldn’t get over it).

Without further ado, here are the books that I brought home;

S__1753132 + 3 more magazines! (1 LIFE Magazine Whitney’s edition 🙂 ).

S__1753137

The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd – I’m very excited about this book! It sounds dark and the cover looks creepy!

S__1753136

 

Spellcaster by Claudia Gray – The cover looks pretty and a bit eerie, it’s about witches after all. Heard a lot about Claudia Gray, although I haven’t got the chance to read her books. This will be my first!

S__1753134Good Omens by Neil Gaiman & Terry Pratchett – I snatched this book at the first glance, and it was only 1 left! Neil Gaiman, I heard a LOT about him ( he wrote the famous Stardust and American Gods ) and had been dying to read his books. I couldn’t believe my luck, they only had this baby left.

S__1753135

 

 

 

Blood Red Road by Moira Young – It is the first in the Dust Lands trilogy, again I’ve heard great many things about the series. I couldn’t wait to read the book!

S__1753133

 

Delirium Stories by Lauren Oliver – It’s a complete short stories about the Delirium characters. I really liked the series, it was really great! (Although I haven’t read the last book, Requiem)

Plus one children book – I forgot the title – which was borrowed by my cousin.

In additional I also bought;

S__1753138

 

70 Puisi by Goenawan Mohamad – I didn’t bought the book from Periplus though, but I found it on a booth which sells old books. I’ve been admiring the works of Goenawan Mohamad for quite some time now, he’s highly talented and his poems are highly amusing. I’m very very excited to read this one!

And that was all the books that I bought from Jakarta Book Fair! Definitely recommended to all book geeks, couldn’t wait to visit another next year! 🙂

One thought on “The Time I Went to Jakarta Book Fair 2014!!

Leave a Reply

